Winnipeg Script

Winnipeg 6, Fargo-Moorhead 1 (Game 1 – 7 Innings) – Box         

The Winnipeg Goldeyes clinch the wild card spot as they defeat Fargo-Moorhead 6-1 in game one of the doubleheader. Winnipeg CF Reggie Abercrombie led the offensive attack going 2-for-3 with a home run and three RBI. Goldeyes LF Willie Cabrera added a pair of hits, a run scored and a RBI while DH Adam Heisler plated two runs and drove in one in a 1-for-2 game. Winnipeg starting pitcher Kevin McGovern notched the win and finished the regular season with an 8-3 record. McGovern tossed a complete game as he allowed an earned run on two hits with two walks and nine strikeouts.

Fargo-Moorhead 10, Winnipeg 5 (Game 2 – 7 Innings) – Box

Fargo-Moorhead tallied five runs in the fourth inning to take a 5-1 lead and would go on to defeat Winnipeg 10-5 and gain a split in the doubleheader. The RedHawks had 16 hits in game two and was led by RF Keury De La Cruz who went 3-for-5 with a home run and three RBI. Fargo-Moorhead 2B Ryan Pineda chipped in with four hits, two runs and a RBI while CF Kes Carter launched a three-run home run in the seventh. RedHawks starting pitcher Dylan Mouzakes gave up three earned runs over five innings of work and notched his second victory. Mouzakes allowed 10 hits and struck out four batters.

St. Paul 5, Lincoln 4 – Box

St. Paul PH/C Tony Caldwell singled home PR Alonzo Harris with the game winning run in the bottom of the ninth inning as the Saints defeated Lincoln in a walk-off, 5-4. The Saltdogs had a 4-3 lead after seven innings only to see St. Paul score a run in the eighth to tie the contest and then the Harris run in the ninth to win it. Saints 3B Nate Hanson went 3-for-4 with a pair of RBI while 2B Ryan Cavan drew three walks and scored twice. St. Paul closer Ryan Rodebaugh tossed a scoreless inning to grab his third win of the season. Rodebaugh gave up two hits but struck out three batters. With the loss, the Saltdogs finished their season at 52-48.

Laredo 5, Wichita 4 (Game 1 – 7 Innings) – Box

Trailing 3-0 through two innings of play, the Laredo Lemurs tallied five runs over the next three and beat Wichita, 5-4 in game one of a doubleheader. Laredo RF Denis Phipps led the way offensively going 2-for-3 with a double, a run scored and a RBI. Lemurs leadoff hitter 3B Abel Nieves collected two hits and scored a run while 1B Jesus Posso had a hit in three at-bats plus a run scored. Laredo pitcher Manny Martinez threw 1 2/3 innings of scoreless relief to earn his third win of the year. Martinez gave up only a hit in the six batters faced. Wingnuts DH Brent Clevlen and 1B Matt Chavez each hit a home run in the loss.

Laredo 3, Wichita 0 (Game 2 – 7 Innings) – Box

Laredo starting pitcher Troy Marks and two relievers combine on an eight-hit shutout as the Lemurs completed the doubleheader sweep with a 3-0 win in game two. Marks went the first five innings allowing no walks and six hits while fanning six batters. The righty notched his eighth victory and finished the season with an 8-4 record.  The bullpen duo of Luis De La Cruz and Luis Pollorena each allowed a hit in an inning of work with Pollorena earning the save. Offensively for Laredo, RF Denis Phipps hit a solo home run while SS J.D. Pulfer contributed a two-run blast.  The Lemurs finish the season at 57-42 while Wichita heads into the playoffs as the South Division champion.

Kansas City 7, Sioux Falls 5 – Box

Kansas City jumped out to a 5-0 lead after three innings of play and would never back as they downed Sioux Falls by the score of 7-5. The T-Bones had 13 hits in the contest with four batters having multi-hit games. Kansas City 2B Brett Wiley and 3B Ryan Retz each had two hits and two RBI while both leadoff hitter Tyler Massey and 1B Jake Blackwood chipped in with a home run. T-Bones starter Josh Hodges picked up the victory as he allowed three earned runs on eight hits in eight innings pitched. For Sioux Falls in the losing effort, LF Cameron Monger went 2-for-4 with a home run.

Joplin 6, Gary SouthShore 2 – Box

Joplin scored three runs in the fifth inning to jump ahead 4-2 and would go on to beat Gary SouthShore in the regular season finale, 6-2. The Blasters were led at the plate by leadoff hitter KC Huth who went 3-for-4 with two runs scored and a RBI. Joplin LF Geraldo Valentin and DH Edwin Gomez combined for seven hits and four RBI in the contest with 2B Mitch Glasser scoring two runs in a 1-for-4 day. Blasters pitcher Victor Ramirez hurled 1 1/3 scoreless innings to nab the victory. Ramirez gave up a hit with a strikeout and finished the year with a 2-0 record.

Sioux City 9, Texas 3 – Box

The Central Division champion Sioux City Explorers head into the playoffs on a three-game winning streak as they defeated Texas by a 9-3 final. Sioux City trailed 2-1 heading into the sixth inning before scoring two runs in the frame and three more in the seventh to win going away. The Explorers had 12 hits in the contest and led by LF LeVon Washington and SS Nate Samson who went a combined 5-for-6 at the plate with six runs scored and three RBI. Sioux City starting pitcher Hasten Freeman allowed two earned runs on six hits in five innings of work to earn his first victory. Right fielder Cody Lenahan went 2-for-4 with two RBI in the loss for Texas.


Fans can watch select American Association games live and for free at


Related Posts