Van Stratten

Durham, N.C. – Baseball America selected six American Association players to its 2013 Independent League All-Star Team on Wednesday. The six (out of 17 total players) were the most from any one independent league.

1B: C.J. Ziegler, Wichita. Also named the Baseball America Independent Player of the Year as well as the American Association’s Player of the Year, Ziegler broke the league record with 30 home runs and led the circuit with 99 RBI. He finished second in the AA with a .645 slugging percentage, and fourth with 32 doubles.

3B: Abel Nieves, Wichita. Nieves led the AA with a .357 average to go along with 23 doubles, 51 RBI and 17 stolen bases for the Central Division champions.

OF: Nick Van Stratten, Sioux Falls (pictured). Van Stratten led the league with 143 hits and finished second in the AA with a .352 batting average and 14 triples, a Canaries franchise record. The speedy Van Stratten also tacked on 25 doubles and 25 stolen bases.

SP: Taylor Stanton, Fargo-Moorhead. The AA’s Pitcher of the Year, Stanton led the circuit with a 2.43 ERA, striking out 108 while walking just 29 in 126 innings pitched for the North Division’s top squad.

RP: Patrick Mincey, Grand Prairie. The righthander was dominant out of the bullpen for the AirHogs, assembling 24 saves while allowing just six earned runs in 53.1 innings of work, fanning 55. For his efforts, the rookie earned Relief Pitcher of the Year honors.

RP: Joe Harris, Fargo-Moorhead. Despite not starting any games, Harris finished tied for third with ten victories on the season, to go along with a 1.55 ERA and 59 strikeouts in 69.2 innings.

The full Independent All-Star Team is available at the Baseball America web site.


Related Posts