Durham, N.C. – Sioux City Explorers manager Steve Montgomery was named the American Association’s Manager of the Year on Tuesday, as voted upon by league managers and media members.

In his second season with the Explorers, Montgomery led his squad to a league-record 75 victories, and won the Central Division by 25.5 games. Sioux City hitters led the league with a .292 batting average, and the team’s pitching staff compiled a 3.04 ERA, also a new American Association record. Three Explorers players were named to the league All-Star team (2B Ryan Court, SS Noah Perio and OF Michael Lang), while RHP Patrick Johnson was selected as the AA Pitcher of the Year and OF Matty Johnson was named the Defensive Player of the Year.

Prior to Sioux City, Montgomery spent ten seasons as a pitching coach with the Fargo-Moorhead RedHawks, where the club put together a .606 winning percentage during his tenure. The native of Mecca, Ohio, played nine seasons in professional baseball in the Orioles, Royals, Dodgers and Red Sox organizations, reaching as high as Triple-A.

Montgomery is the first manager in Sioux City history to be named American Association Manager of the Year.

American Association Manager of the Year

2015: Steve Montgomery, Sioux City

2014: Kevin Hooper, Wichita

2013: Kevin Hooper, Wichita

2012: Tim Johnson, El Paso

2011: Rick Forney, Winnipeg

2010: Steve Shirley, Sioux Falls

2009: Kevin Hooper, Wichita

2008: Steve Shirley, Sioux Falls

2007: Butch Henry, El Paso

2006: Tim Johnson, Lincoln


Related Posts