Cover Image

Fargo-Moorhead 4, Kansas City 1 – Box Score

The Fargo-Moorhead RedHawks claimed the West Division Series Championship with a 4-1 win in the decisive game three against the Kansas City Monarchs.

The RedHawks eliminated the defending champion Monarchs to advance to the Miles Wolff Cup Finals. Fargo-Moorhead will see the Milwaukee Milkmen in game one of the American Association’s Championship Series which will begin on Saturday, September 17.

On Thursday, the RedHawks took the lead in the top of the third inning when C Christian Correa hit a two-run home run. Fargo-Moorhead stretched that lead to three runs in the fifth when SS Sam Dexter scored after DH Drew Ward reached on an error. In the sixth, CF Evan Alexander lifted a sac fly to center that scored RF John Silviano (2-for-4) and gave the RedHawks a 4-0 lead.

A wild pitch in the eighth allowed RF Jan Hernandez (2-for-3) to score for the Monarchs and end the shutout but that proved to be the final run of the game. 

On the bump, starting pitcher Peyton Wigginton earned the win as he worked six innings and gave up just six hits while striking out four batters. Reliever Alex DuBord bagged the save as he worked the ninth and gave up just one hit without giving up a run. 



Related Posts