Cover Image

Milwaukee 3, Chicago 1 – Box Score

The Milwaukee Milkmen advanced to the East Division Championship Series with a 3-1 win against the Chicago Dogs on Saturday night at Impact Field, claiming the series 2-1. 

The Milkmen broke the scoreless tie in the top of the fifth inning when 2B Miguel Gomez hit a two-run home run and C Hector Sanchez (2-for-3) hit a solo shot three batters later. 

The Dogs’ lone run came in the bottom of the ninth inning when CF Anfernee Grier hit a solo shot. 3B Cody Bohanek singled in the next at-bat to bring the tying run to the plate but SS Connor Kopach bounced into a double play to end the threat and the series. 

Reliever Frankie Bartow earned the win for working three innings and giving up just one hit while striking out four batters and Reliever Rodrigo Benoit claimed a seven-out save while giving up one run on just  two hits. 

The Milkmen will see the Cleburne Railroaders in the East Division Championship Series beginning on Monday, September 12. 


Cleburne 7, Kane County 3 – Box Score

The Cleburne Railroaders rode a hot start to a 7-3 win against the Kane County Cougars and claimed their spot in the East Division Championship Series. 

In the top of the first inning, 2B Edwin Arroyo (3-for-4) drew a lead-off walk and scored when CF Zach Nehrir singled to left two batters later, In the next at-bat 3B,Chase Simpson lifted a sac fly that scored LF Chuck Taylor and Nehrir scored in the next at-bat when RF Kacy Clemens (2-for-5)  singled. Clemens scored later in the inning on a single from 1B Jacob Bockelie to give the Railroaders a 4-0 lead.

In the bottom of the frame, RF Ernie De La Trinidad scored when CF Jimmy Kerrigan bounced out, The Railroaders added a run in top in the second as SS Nick Shumpert scored after Arroyo reached on an error. The Cougars responded in the home half with a lead-off shot from C Josh Rolette.

In the fourth, Arroyo doubled home C Mitch Ghelfi and, in the sixth, Arroyo doubled to score Shumpert to give the Railroaders a 7-2 lead. The Cougars scored the final run of the night in the bottom of the seventh when Kerrigan singled home 2B Sherman Johnson (2-for-3). 

The Railroaders will face the Milwaukee Milkmen in the East Division Championship Series beginning on Monday, September 12.


Fargo-Moorhead 7, Winnipeg 3 – Box Score

The Fargo-Moorhead RedHawks advanced to the West Division Championship Series after claiming a 7-3 win against the Winnipeg Goldeyes in Game Three of the series on Saturday night at Newman Outdoor Field. 

The RedHawks opened with three runs in the bottom of the first inning thanks to an RBI bounce out from RF John Silviano and a two-run home run from 1B Manuel Boscan. In the top of the third, Winnipeg tied the score as RF Michael Crouse had an RBI single and 3B Ian Sagdal hit a two-run home run. 

In the bottom of the seventh, 2B Peter Maris (3-for-4) singled home SS Sam Dexter and then Maris scored alongside C Christian Correa when 3B Leobaldo Pina (2-for-4) doubled later in the inning. In the eighth, Correa singled to score CF Evan Alexander for the final run of the day. 

The RedHawks will square off with the Kansas City Monarchs in the West Division Championship Series, with game one set for Monday, September 12.


Related Posts