Front Graphic 2

In the first AA finals appearance for both franchises, the Sioux City Explorers and Laredo Lemurs will play in the best-of-five 2015 league championship series, beginning Wednesday evening.

The Explorers, who won the Central Division and broke a league record with 75 wins during the regular season, advanced by defeating the North Division champion St. Paul Saints, 3 games to 1, in the semifinals. Meanwhile, the wild-card Lemurs outlasted the defending champion and 2015 South Division champion Wichita Wingnuts, 3 games to 2.

Laredo won the 2015 season series between the two clubs, 4 games to 3; the teams split four games in Sioux City in July, while the Lemurs won two out of three in Laredo to end the regular season.

Playoff history: 

  • The two clubs have never faced each other in the playoffs.
  • 2015 marked the first American Association playoff series victory for both franchises. Previously, Laredo had lost to Wichita in the semifinals in 2012 and 2014, while Sioux City was defeated by Sioux Falls in the 2008 semifinals.

Series Schedule

Wednesday, September 16: Sioux City (Johnson) @ Laredo (Pollorena), 7:30 p.m.

Thursday, September 17: Sioux City (Zimmerman) @ Laredo, 7:30 p.m.

Saturday, September 19: Laredo @ Sioux City (Straka), 7:05 p.m.

Sunday, September 20: Laredo @ Sioux City (Wordekemper), 5:05 p.m. (if necessary)

Monday, September 21: Laredo @ Sioux City, 6:05 p.m. (if necessary)


Related Posts