Independent Baseball Chatter – by Bob Wirz

While the American Association has already had seven of its former players in the major leagues (or on the disabled list) already this season, almost as impressive is that another 16 are just one step away on Triple-A rosters where they could get that magic promotion at any time.

Nine of the 12 holdover members (not counting Joplin, which debuts this season) can claim at least one of the Class AAA players.

The list, including the parent major league organization, follows:
Angel Castro, Oakland (Lincoln)
Dane De LaRosa, Baltimore (El Paso)
Mark Hamburger, Minnesota (St. Paul)
John Holdzkom, Pittsburgh (Amarillo, Sioux City)
James Hoyt, Houston (Wichita)
Brandon Kintzler, Milwaukee (St. Paul)
Chaz Roe, Baltimore (Laredo)
Cody Satterwhite, New York-NL (Sioux City)
Tanner Scheppers, Texas (St. Paul)
Bo Schultz, Toronto (Grand Prairie)
Chris Smith, San Diego (Wichita)
Greg Smith, Atlanta (Grand Prairie)
Fabian Williamson, Miami (Laredo, Winnipeg),

Position Players (3):
C Jeff Howell, Washington (St. Paul, Lincoln),
C Eddy Rodriguez, New York-AL (Sioux Falls, El Paso)
C Jose Yepez, Atlanta (Pensacola).

Shortstop Nate Samson, who has played for both Sioux City and Winnipeg, was on the list until the Los Angeles Dodgers moved him back to Class AA a few days ago to give him more playing time.


Related Posts